Western Force Unveils 2018 Squad

The Western Force is excited to announce the squad for its 2018 series of invitational matches against Super Rugby clubs as well as rugby heavyweight national representative teams.

The search for the new Force team stretched far and wide – hand picking players from Western Australia, interstate and overseas. The squad includes players with international Test rugby and Super Rugby experience and importantly, sees 11 former Force players come back to represent the side.

“The squad has an important spread of youth and experience and we are delighted that the players have committed to the club,” Head Coach Tim Sampson said.

“The players have joined from many different clubs throughout Australia and internationally, so it is fantastic that we have players like Ian Prior, Peter Grant and Marcel Brache and others who have been with the Western Force previously.”

Former star Springbok centre Jaque Fourie will pull on his boots again and move to Perth to join the Force. Fourie played 72 Tests for the Springboks between 2003 and 2013 before taking up club rugby in Japan until early 2017.

The Force is also pleased to sign Olympic gold medallist Masivesi Dakuwaqa, who will return to union after a year with the Canberra Raiders. Dakuwaqa played a key role in Fiji’s momentous first Olympic gold medal – the Rugby Sevens at the 2016 Rio Olympics.

The squad, listed alphabetically, is as follows:
Aj Alatimu
Chris Alcock
Marcel Brache
Masivesi Dakuwaqa
Rod Davies
Andrew Deegan
Tevin Ferris
Jaque Fourie
Josh Furno
Peter Grant
Chris Heiberg
Rodney Iona
Feleti Kaitu’u
Brad Lacey
Kieran Longbottom
Ryan Louwrens
Cameron Orr
Harrison Orr
Leon Power
Ian Prior
Harry Scoble
Tom Sheminant
Brynard Stander
Elliot Turner
Clay Uyen
Fergus Lee Warner