The National Rugby Championship (NRC) is Australia’s only national rugby competition. The NRC is now entering the fourth year of competition having been conceived in 2013.

The competition features nine teams; Perth Spirit, Brisbane City, Melbourne Rising, Queensland Country, Sydney Rays, UC Vikings, NSW Country, Greater Sydney Rams and for the first time in 2017, a team from Fiji, the Fijian Drua.

Brisbane City claimed back-to-back titles in the competition in 2014 and 2015 with the Perth Spirit claiming the 2016 title.

In the regular rounds of the competition, teams also have the chance to play for the Horan-Little Shield, a challenge trophy that is on offer when the holder comes up against an opponent. The winner keeps the shield, but surrenders it in the event of a loss.

The future of  the NRC has been secured for the next five years, after the announcement of a new ARU broadcast deal in December 2015.