Secondary School Competitions

Combined Schools and Colleges (CSC)

The Combined Schools and Colleges Competition has been contested in Western Australian Schools since 1987. The focus of the competition is two-fold, to provide students with a safe and enjoyable introduction to rugby and to provide a well-managed and competitive competition.

With many schools in recent times finding it difficult to field 15-a-side teams week in and week out there has been some work done to allow those with less numbers to play 10-a-side or even 7’s in order to get game time for their students. Schools have been very supportive of each other and this has resulted in a strong core group of schools continuing to play in the CSC Competition. In 2017 there will be continued efforts to encourage new schools or schools that may have once played in the competition to re-join and make Western Australian school rugby stronger than ever before.

Schools that compete in the CSC Competition are:

  • Mandurah Catholic College, Kennedy Baptist College, Thornlie Senior High School, Christian Brothers College Fremantle, Aranmore Catholic College, John XXIII College, Churchlands Senior High School

If your school is interested in joining the CSC competition please contact Dane Lazarus at or 9387 0712 for more information.

Public Schools Association (PSA)

Rugby became a PSA Sport in 1961, and in 1963 the Rugby cup was renamed the Brother Redmond Cup, in honour of Brother M F Redmond, who was an influential teacher and sports master at Aquinas College over a span of 45 years.

Although the Trophy was first presented in 1963, the PSA Headmasters decreed at a meeting in 1962, that because all PSA schools had competed in Rugby since the first competition in 1961, then the original two years would also be included on the trophy.

The PSA is contested between sevens schools:

  • Aquinas College, Wesley College, Hale School, Christchurch Grammar School, Scotch College, Trinity College, Guildford Grammar School

PSA Rugby Results, Fixtures and Ladders